A Wise Sauce – in the Flashlight

“A fool thinks himself wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool” – William Shakespear (via BrainyQuote.com)

I may not be a chef, or even that good of a DIY home cook, but I’ve learned where I’m out of my depth, and that is with sauces. I’m not talking about gravy, or tossing a little milk or thickener in a dish…I’m talking about the make-it-or-break-it sauces that are the star of the show. I give up trying to out-do the pros with BBQ sauce for slow cooker pulled pork. I’m not even trying enchilada sauce – Old El Paso mild* is our favorite for Ranch Enchilasagne.

Add teriyaki to the list. I’ll toss together some soy sauce, rice wine, sugar, garlic powder and onion powder for a quick teriyaki-ish marinade, no problem, but when it comes to that glorious thick, glazing, rich wonderful sauce – not happening. When it come to teriyaki I have just one word of advice – Kikkoman.*

It is the only brand soy sauce that I allow across my threshold, which is saying something, since I’m not brand-loyal about too many things, and most of those are food related. Ditto for their teriyaki sauce. Why – sesame seeds. And flavor. And texture.

Flashlight on total high-beams for this stuff! It’s what I use for General Faux’s Chicken and this week’s recipe – Teribeeni Tofu.

 

*Spontaneous fangirl luv…I’m not compensated for the mention in any way.

One thought on “A Wise Sauce – in the Flashlight

  1. Kikkoman definitely has the best teriyaki. It’s what I buy whenever I buy teriyaki 😀

Leave a Reply

