Less Guilt Chip Dip

My mom gave this recipe to me ages ago.  I think it is excellent on tortilla chips. The theory is that you get a lower fat, higher protein dip with the cottage cheese (1 gm total fat and 3 gm protein per ounce – for the real stuff, that is) than with sour cream (cultured – 6 gm total fat and 1 gm protein per ounce). Of course, the through-the-roof glycemic index of chips you dip in it is a whole other kettle of fish…fish being zero glycemic, but that is another story…

The moral of that story is dip some nice, woven whole wheat crackers instead (yes, I luvs me some Triquits) or some other healthy chip alternative. This stuff also rocks with raw veggies, like broccoli and cauliflower.

If you want to use skim milk and non-fat cottage cheese – go ahead but on your head be it. I’ve done that  before, and in my opinion it’s vile. Unless you like library paste. A lot of people like 2% milk and low-fat cottage cheese just fine (like my mom, and friend Pam) but it still tastes a little off to me. So you can adjust the type of dairy according to your individual needs. Lucky for me,  is it is low-glycemic in any incarnation.

1 – 24 oz carton cottage cheese

1- seasoning option (see below

1/4 -1/2 cup milk (regular, 2%, unsweetened plain almond or soy…even half and half if fat isn’t a worry)

Put cottage cheese, 1/4 cup of milk and seasoning in a blender. Blend on high until smooth. Additional milk may be needed to adjust texture to your liking.

Seasoning Options:

1 pkg ranch dressing mix

OR

1 pkg french onion soup mix

OR

1 pkg knorr or other spinach dip mix

OR

1 tsp garlic powder

1tsp dill weed

1/2 tsp onion powder

salt

pepper

7 thoughts on “Less Guilt Chip Dip

  1. I guess I’m weird because I can never taste the difference between full fat and 2% dairy products. I can between regular and skim/fat free, though, but the taste doesn’t bother me.

    However, I despise cottage cheese in all forms, haha. I bet this would be delicious with sour cream, like you said….

    • OR with that healthier option food crush of mine…plain greek yogurt. Actually I have done this with the yogurt, and I like it…but my daughter wasn’t into the tangy-ness. The tangy thing is a little over the top compared to sour cream in this, anyway. The cheese version is mellow, if nothing else. Most people, it seems don’t distinguish between 2% and full fat. I can a little – making me the weird one. The big difference, is, like you said, the fat free which usually tastes a little spoiled to me in yogurts and cottage cheese. I don’t drink milk (we’re all almond all the time in that department) so I can’t say one way or the other for that.

      Hope you are feeling better 🙂 With the holiday and no school Monday, instead of lazy, I’ve been Brainfart Mctooterpants thinking it is a whole day earlier than it really is. Hard to believe tomorrow is Friday already!

      • I can’t taste a flavor difference in the levels of milk, but there’s a texture/consistency difference.

        I’m feeling mostly better, although I’ve found out there’s a pretty exciting reason for the sickness as of late. It’s not ‘tell everyone official’ yet… but yeah.

      • Glad you are feeling better! Hope the ‘official’ reason is exciting in a good way!

        I have a theory about the milk-taste thing. I wonder if it has to do with the fat to whey ratio. Hubsters been using whey protein shakes every now and again as part of training for triathlons (he’s doing a half-ironman next summer) Took a taste and GAAAAK! Not something I’d voluntarily drink. He loves it…thinks it tastes like malt, and he really likes malt balls and malted milk shakes. Dunno. I’m just glad to have one food thing to not worry about. I’m SOOO not detail oriented…after watching Vit K and active carbs, adding fats to the balancing act would probably put me over an edge. I admire your and hubsters calorie counting discipline!

      • Definitely exciting in a good way 😉

        I’ve never had protein shakes. I’ve heard mixed things about them. It could very well be the fat to whey ratio… or differences in taste buds.

        I don’t blame you. Tracking too many things is hard. As you know, I just go for overall calories and try to have a nice balance of carbs/fats/proteins, but I don’t get too bent out of shape if I have too much/too few of one or more.

      • Whew…glad it’s good news!

        You are right, though, everyone has a unique palate…I like recipes like this with lots of options to adapt to personal taste.

        Guess that old Delphi aphorism “know thyself” is good advice for dieting too. Trick is knowing our strengths so we can work with them instead of forcing into someone else’s mold. There are many paths to the top of the mountain and all that, eh?

  2. Reblogged this on Ronda Snow, Ph.D. and commented:
    You can’t beat recipes with healthy flexibility. If you need non-fat, this dip has you covered. If you need low-glycemic, no problem. Need tasty? Go nuts with the full fat version (you could even substitute half and half for milk if you’ve a mind to do it). Natural health is all about finding what works for you as an individual. Sometimes it means making a change, sometimes it means honoring the real you. The real me likes the full version on corn chips or raw veggies

Leave a Reply

