Menu Ideas – week of 7 October 2013

Writing out menus here on the blog has been the hugest help…it forces me to plan in advance, which let’s me take advantage of advertised sales, and forces me to browse the interwebs for other ideas when I’m running on empty. Lucky for me, the family doesn’t have very adventurous tastes sometimes, so repeats and bumps from the week before are usually OK. Keeping it simple this week. The weather is forecast to turn more fall-like, so it’s time to roll out some warm and comfort.

 

Monday – spaghetti and meatballs

Tuesday – green bean and tofu rice (meatless)

Wednesday – Beefy mushroom soup

Thursday – Tamale Pie (from omnomalicious)

Friday Terriyaki salmon “burgers” with sweet potato fries

4 thoughts on “Menu Ideas – week of 7 October 2013

  1. Yum! I totally agree about posting the weekly menu plan. There have been weeks where it’s the only reason I’ve made a menu plan… and I definitely would’ve regretting it later in the week.

    • Same here. The Giant Eagle sale flyer is my ace-in-the-hole for menu ideas…I just look at what is on sale, and plan for the week based on that. If that doesn’t work, there are a couple of really fantastic blogs I love to read…Omnomalicious and PaBlam! 😉

  2. love the sound of the beefy mushroom soup, bought a lovely bit of beef this weekend that I’m making three meals out of. Cut a few steaks (which we had friday night), a nice roasting piece for today (Got some lovely purple sprouting to go with it from a local grocer, people don’t use their local grocers or butchers enough!) and diced some up ready for braised beef in the week (browned off with aromat seasoning, fresh carrots and sugar then stewed till tender and thickened, yummy!). I don’t talk about food enough, Ronda. Keep smiling and keep writing, best wishes from Baldy 🙂

    • That sounds just absolutely delicious!! The weather is finally cooling here, and nothing quite says “home” like the aroma of roasting or braising meat and veggies! Please keep writing about food, all you like 😀 I promise I won’t any more than make some of your suggestions…YUM!

Leave a Reply

