Food Souvanir

Brought back another food souvanir…not literally, of course. Went to Mama Margies in Schertz, TX and had what turned out to be my favorite plate of tex-mex for this trip. Especially the caldo de pollo on the ‘mama’s low carb plate’. It seems to be basically veggies…tomato, zuchinni, carrots, onion etc in chicken stock with oh-so-tender chicken meat – with cilantro.

I’ve seen some recipes online on allrecipes.com, food.com, cooks.com. Not sure which version I’ll try first, but I’m SO doing this in the crockpot. There was something special about the broth…couldn’t put my finger on it. One of the online recipes uses chicken legs, cooked until it falls off the bone. I don’t know if that is what the restaraunt did, but I can see that adding dimensions of flavor that a can of chicken broth and defrosted boneless skinless breast meat wouldn’t have. My husband detests dark meat though…but then, if there aren’t any bones to give it away because they’ve been picked out…

It looked like breast meat in theirs. Maybe a combo is in order. Unless chicken legs go on sale.

Will let you know.

Leave a comment