Quinoatatouille (keen-wha-ta-too-ee)

I’m not a chef. I may not be that good of a home cook, and I’m certainly no pro at creating recipes. The least I can do is create bizarre names for stuff. I started with a pot of quinoa, and ended with a mass of stuff that kept putting the word “ratatouille” in my head. It’s only eggplant and some herbs off – and an ocean apart. Ratatuille is French (profound statement, that), Quinoa is a South American seed about the size of millet, but it isn’t technically  a grass plant and so not a  “true grain” or a “true cereal”. It has over 8 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber per 1 cup serving as opposed to 5 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber in a 1 cup serving of long grain brown rice (nutritiondata.self.com). Quinoa is somewhat processed…the outer husk has to be removed or the saponins in the husk make it inedible. Quinoa, although it can be a tiny bit pricey and not typical grocery store fare (look in Market District, Whole Foods, Trader Joes…that kind of thing) It has a richer flavor, a little like corn on the cob. Tasty stuff. And ridiculously healthy.

 

2 cups rinsed quinoa

3 1/2 cups water

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning (or to taste)

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried basal

1//4 tsp onion powder

2 cups summer squash and zucchini, diced and steamed until tender

1 can or 1 1/2 cups diced tomato

 

put water, soysauce and seasoning into large saucepan with well fitting lid and bring to simmer. Add quinoa, stir, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 15 minutes until quinoa is cooked (looks translucent with ring around the edge). Stir in squash/zucchini, and tomatoes. Simmer for another 5 to 10 minutes until vegetables are warm. Can be used as a side dish or as a rice-bowl type of light meatless meal.

 

6 thoughts on “Quinoatatouille (keen-wha-ta-too-ee)

  1. This is the second time, today, that I’ve come across a recipe using Quinoa. I’m going to have to learn a bit about this Quinoa stuff.

    • I’m guessing your taste buds will be glad you do. Let me know what you think! “The Ranting Chef” on wordpress has loads more recipes if you are interested

      • Will do. I’ll need to pay much, much more attention to your blog, definitely. I have to organize myself, here. I’m missing too much.

      • You’re doing fine, no worries. If you have any questions about the food and stuff, just let me know, I’ll help as best I can (I’m not a dietitian – my specialty is Natural Health stress management) You are doing us all a service with the work you are doing over on “We Drink Because We’re Poets”. That feeds peoples’ soul. That ranks up there with finding food for the belly. Thanks for reading!

  2. My neighbor made some black beans and quinoa, and it was delicious. I’ve never used it myself, but only because my husband throws a fit with the price. He’s cheapy mccheaperson.

    • I can’t blame him there, I’m a cheapy mccheaperperson too. Guilty! The only time I get quinoa is when I happen to be going by whole foods or trader jacks anyway for some other reason – at least it is a tiny smidge cheaper if you can get it in bulk.

Leave a Reply

