Oh Canada

Apparently, Canada has more going for it than hockey and beer…and in my book that is saying something! (Go Pens!)

Showed this recipe to a friend from Nova Scotia, and sure enough, she said it was exactly her Grandmother’s recipe…http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1813,146174-236205,00.html

I must have made four of these in as many weeks. The hubster and the youngling hoover them down quicker than just about any dessert I’ve made. We are all big fans of lemon…and this is so easy, simple…downright wholesome. Yeah, it isn’t a paragon of healthy eating, but being made of  all natural ingredients like plain ordinary cane sugar, butter, eggs, flour and lemon…it seems like a health food compared to soda, chips, candy bars or commercial cakes and snacks.

I have to admit to hitting the lemon bread more than I should…although I will put some lowfat, natural vanilla yogurt over mine to bump up the protein and ratchet back on glycemic impact a minuscule, tiny, itsy, who-am-I-kidding-this-is-just-plain-good amount.

Maybe I am just kidding myself, but I feel better after that treat (sweetened only with sugar, yogurt included) than after any soda or commercial treat. Anecdotal evidence is still evidence, especially when it is your own personal anecdote.  The regular corn syrup that you use to make desserts at home is not good…but science be damned, commercial HFCS is somehow evil.

But that’s just me. And this is just me heading toward the coffee pot while looking at the lemon bread like Edward-up-a-tree looking at Bella….

Whether the bread survives or not…thanks Canada. YUM!!!

6 thoughts on “Oh Canada

  1. OMG. I need to eat this NOW. I love lemon loaf so much. I feel like this one might need more lemon, though. Have you ever made the lemon glaze on it? Once you bake it, poke holes in it with a toothpick, then mix some lemon juice with sugar and pour over the loaf. It is amazing. Of course, it adds sugar and calories… but go big or go home, right?

    • Absolutely! We’ve taken to eating it with a vanilla base (forgot to get a lemon for the zest) but we always make the lemon juice glaze. It is such a good cake base, that I’ve been going a little crazy with it…reserved part of the batter, put cocoa in it and made an un-glazed marble pound cake. Then last night replaced 1/4 cup of the flour with 1/4 cup of cocoa, and stirred in some mini chocolate chips at the end, plus sprinkled some across the top before baking. Next experiment is to double the recipe, bake it in a 9 x 13 pan, make an evaporated milk / sweetened condensed milk / vanilla mixture, pour that over the fork punctured cake (as with the lemon glaze) and when it is cool, cover that with a layer of whipped cream, and sprinkles and viola! Tres Leches birthday cake 😀

      • Oh, man. Don’t tempt me! I just mixed some Nutella into my waffle batter this morning. It was delicious. Now I want to do the same to that cake recipe 😉

        So many yummy options!

      • remind me…did you say you had read those Debra Geary books? Between the cookies in the books, my sister-in-law’s love of the stuff, and your cake idea, I’m beginning to think Nutella is it’s own food group. The youngling loves it on whole wheat toast…all health aside, I got to agree w/ the whole wheat thing. The nuttiness of the whole wheat kicks the nutella up yet another notch…as if it wasn’t good enough to eat with a spoon to start with 😉

      • Oh, I totally agree. Nutella + Whole Wheat = Awesome! I always get the whole wheat bagel thins… put some Nutella on one side, some cream cheese on the other, smoosh them together, and nom nom nom nom!

Leave a Reply

