Weekly Menu 21 October 12

Mmmm….wonder what they’ll plan for the week Β over at Pa-Blam! and Omnomalicious. Their weekly menus are always full of good ideas…and links to recipes, and Pam posted the cutest spiderweb Halloween decorations!

Here, I think I’ve finally had my fill of pulled pork for a while, so back to trying to come up with new ideas. Luckily it is that chilly, comfort food time of year.

Monday – Smoked herring cakes (like tuna cakes) with parsnip chips

Tuesday – Surf-ish Turf-ish Tacos

Wed – Cheese and Onion Quiche (not vegan, but at least meat-less)

Thursday – “breakfast for dinner” waffles and maple sausage links – just because we can

Friday – spaghetti with meat sauce

7 thoughts on “Weekly Menu 21 October 12

  1. I just finished my meal plan, and I’m excited to post it tomorrow. I’m getting back into the one meatless meal, and it was a challenge to find something that the hubster would eat. I’m pretty excited! Thanks for the link πŸ˜‰

    Breakfast for dinner is one of my favorites! Your week sounds delicious πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you so much for getting the weekly menu started!! It is a wonderful idea and has been so-oooo helpful! It is motivation to fit in that meatless meal and a fish meal (luv those omega-3s) Have you and the hubster ever tried saitan, or however you spell that wheat gluten meat substitute? One of these days, my bestie Diann (The Vegan Vampirette blog) is going to show me how to make it. It’s supposed to make a decent meat-like-loaf. Will post that adventure when it happens πŸ˜‰

      • You’re welcome! Glad it’s helping you as much as it helps me! It definitely takes the stress off on a daily basis. Now I have a list instead of trying to throw things together last minute!

        I have not tried it, but my friend Megan made stir fry with it the other week. I’ll have to look into it! Daniel refuses to try tofu, but I bet I could sneak it in πŸ˜‰

      • my trick for sneaking in the tofu: get the extra firm, cube it, and marinate it in soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, & a little ginger powder for a couple of hours before adding it to veggie fried rice or stir fry. Gives it teriyaki flavor, and the extra firm texture is meatier, not as weird as softer versions. I’ve seen some pre-flavored tofu in hot red asian pepper sauces, but even I’m not that kamakazee. Bet you could rig up a maranade with some zing if he likes spice.

      • Thanks for the tip! I’m definitely going to have to try it πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #19 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

