Slow Cooker Pulled Pork V1.1

I love slow cooker pulled pork. First time I made it, I used a commercial spice packet…too salty, and a bit too spicy for the youngling. So gave a go at it myself yesterday, since pork shoulder was on sale (thank you Giant Eagle!) I thought the sauce was OK but would need some tweeking, but it is a good basic starter sauce for further experimentation. The youngling snarfed down two buns worth…a rave review…so I might just have to stop there.

Just like last time, I simply put the pork shoulder, doused it with sauce and let it brew on low for 7 hours.

Then I took the pork out, shredded it, removed the bones and returned it to the pot and took a taste, partly because I’m a sucker for the rich, unctuous, hot, tender, juiciness – partly to see if it needed more salt. It did, so I sprinkled in some season salt. The juice was pretty watery, so I also added a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch and cold water, turned the slow cooker up to high (to bring the whole thing to a simmer) for a about another half hour.

Then I spooned the tastiness over some honey whole wheat buns and served it with a side of buttered parsley carrots.

The beautiful part is there is loads of leftovers to put into fried rice tonight, or toss over noodles with some sauteed mushrooms. Ahhh, leftovers.

Sauce experiment #1:

1/4 cup ketchup
3 Tbs brown sugar
3 Tbs soy sauce
2 Tbs sesame oil (like they say in that mac and cheese TV ad…this stuff is LIquid gooooold!)
2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
1 1/2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder

I started by measuring the ketchup into a 1 cup liquid measuring cup and just stirred everything into it from there.

Being mostly meat with a small amount of lower-refined sugar…needless to say this is way way friendly to the low glycemic folks. Healthy? I don’t know…but as good as it tastes, not so sure I so much care.

www.RondaSnow.com

8 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Pulled Pork V1.1

  1. I don’t see why it would be unhealthy. It’s just meat with a bit of salt… and you removed most of the fat, right? Paired with the wheat buns and carrots, it’s a perfectly balanced meal IMO 😀

    • Remove the fat! Sacrilege! They’d kick me out of the ex-Southerners club 😉 I don’t trim it much, actually. It breaks down and keeps the meat moist with the prolonged cooking. Who was it that said “pork fat rules”? But that is a personal adaptation too. My gene pool is short on carb metabolism but long on the HDLs. You are right about the health of it overall…it’s the Mediterranean paradox…”the presence of vegetables is more important than the absence of meat”.

  2. Pingback: Menu Ideas for the week of 14 April 2013 | The Vampire Diet

  3. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of July 29 | The Vampire Diet

  4. Pingback: A Wise Sauce – in the Flashlight | The Vampire Diet

  5. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of 9 Feb. 2014 | The Vampire Diet

  6. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of Dec 29 | The Vampire Diet

  7. Pingback: Menu Ideas | The Vampire Diet

Leave a Reply

