There are no atheists in a mayonnaise factory

I just made my first batch of mayonnaise, chanting the mantra of “please don’t break, please don’t break” the whole time.

Who was it that did that stand-up comedy routine with the no atheists in an airport shuttle van bit? I know how he feels…hail mary, come in buddha, hello hari krishna…and I’m usually as secular as they come.

But it worked! Due to Alton Browns EXCELLENT recipe more than divine intervention no doubt…but this stuff is way yummy whatever the reason 🙂

Feeding a youngling, I omitted the chili oil, and just used a full 2 cups of oil. I didn’t have corn or safflower, so I substituted half canola, half olive (we really like the olive oil mayo in the store that I’ll never buy again because I’m making my own from now on)

I was surprised to find that I was out of mustard powder (who runs out of that – I must be watching way too much Foodnetwork 😉 ) So I used 1/4 tsp of garlic powder instead. You know I have to put garlic in darn near everything short of dessert, so that worked out.

I did have lime juice…thank goodness. I can’t imagine lemon being quite as good in this. Lime is just the perfect final MWHA kiss of perfection.

Long story short, I highly highly recommend it. I don’t know how long it will keep, but I don’t see it lasting that long anyway. Tonight, apple salad (my version of waldorf salad), tuna salad over the weekend…it makes a smidge more than 2 cups, so with all the sandwiches we make and take for lunches anyway… refrigerator shelf life isn’t going to be much of an issue.

Here is the recipe for the goodness: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/party-mayonnaise-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

