Frankenbrownies

Bad juju in the house today. Hubster and the kiddo wanted brownies. They are healthy. They are not overweight. Everyone deserves a treat every now and then, so why not? I didn’t have enough of one ingredient or another to make any of the recipes I had on hand, so put on the white lab coat and goggles, and mad scientist-ed my own together. Dang it’s good, if I do say so. That’s the problem with knowing how to bake (and loving to do it)…it’s all too easy to get gooey chocolate-y fudge-y goodness on the table.

On the up side, I only had one brownie. I had to taste it for quality control, right? Yeah. That’s the ticket, yeah. Not bad for a cobbled together recipe from the parts of about three other recipes. On the down side, I want another and there is a bunch left, on the dining table, taunting me.

This is NOT a health food, on only for those times when you are in rampaging newborn vampire mode, and don’t care about sugar or calories or anything else. Suitable for zombies.

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter – melted

1/2  cup peanut butter

2 tsp vanilla extract
4 eggs
2 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa
pinch salt
1 (12oz) pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips

I just use a spoon, it mixes up fast and easy.

Mix melted butter, both sugars, pinch of salt together.  Stir in peanut butter. Add eggs and vanilla, and stir until smooth. Stir in cocoa and flour. Fold in chocolate chips.

Wrangle the gooey mass into a buttered and floured 9×13 metal baking pan (I don’t recommend glass)

Bake 325 for 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let cool before cutting and eating.

www.RondaSnow.com

4 thoughts on “Frankenbrownies

  1. Good job keeping it to just one! Everyone needs a treat now and then 😉 These sound delicious, though!

    • If you try them out, let me know how they work for you. My husband raved over them. He said Alton Brown is a genius (he is) but it was fun to tell him I couldn’t find my 8×8 pan to do the A.B. recipe and this one was my own whacko combo for the 9×13. A.B’s doesn’t have peanutbutter either.

  2. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of 9 Feb. 2014 | The Vampire Diet

  3. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of 14 | The Vampire Diet

Leave a Reply

