Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

ImageI love me some pulled pork! Always have, but not having a smoker, never tried to make it at home. This isn’t quite the same, but it is pretty good. I chickened out and used a seasoning mix, but next time…and believe me, this is good enough there will be lot of next-times, I plan on experimenting with my own sauce and seasonings. Now I just need to get my hands on some liquid smoke….

I’m thinking 1/3 cup ketchup, 1/3 cup brown sugar, just under 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar, and a splash of either soy or hoisen sauce, plus garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, and liquid smoke. Keep in mind, I feed kids who are not big on spice or heat…so if you want to turn up the heat with some cayanne or chipotle/adobo or whatever, I certainly won’t tell. I haven’t tried making my own sauce, yet…but will let you know how this particular concoction turns out.

Made this over the weekend for visiting family, and it was a hit, even with the kids. How easy is this:

Put a 4-5 pound Boston Butt pork shoulder roast in a slow cooker with 1 cup of your choice of “bbq” sauce. Cook on low for 8 hours. Take out meat, remove bone. Chop or pull into small pieces with 2 forks. Put the meat back in the sauce to warm for another hour.

Savor, enjoy, and revel in the porky goodness. We put it on buns, had it with a side of “cheaterpants coleslaw” and all was well with the world for an hour or two.

Tossed the leftover pulled pork with some leftover veggie fried rice, and a little soy sauce to moisten the leftover rice, warmed it up in the microwave, and well, YUM!

The rice and buns are the big carb/glycemic no-nos there, but you could always make it more glycemic friendly by using whole grain buns or brown rice.

I don’t know how on earth you could make it lower fat, so you low-lipid people are out of luck with this one.

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

    • Let me know how it turns out for you! I want to try it again soon so I can play with the sauce instead of using the pre-fab mix. A slow-cooker day plus leftover days…it’s a good deal! Let me know what sauce you use. Or to start I used the McCormack’s slow cooker spice mix. But with the three girls around, the less brain power I put into cooking, the better 🙂

  1. Pingback: Menu Ideas – 16 Dec 2013 | The Vampire Diet

Leave a Reply

